Surprisingly, I have owned this book for a good few years – wayyy before I started this blog and my YouTube channel.
I remember reading it, enjoying it, thinking it was interesting, but then putting it back on the shelf and not being able to do anything with the information I had just learned.
This time around, I am at a different place in my entrepreneurial journey, and I am now able to utilize the lessons in this book, so, I re-read it.
What is 80/20 Sales & Marketing about?
I’m sure you’ve probably already heard of the 80/20 Principle (also called the Pareto Principle).
It’s a universal law of the ‘vital few’ which dictates that 80% of the effects are generated by 20% of the causes, and vice a versa.
- 20% of your customers will generate 80% of your revenue.
- 80% of the roads will carry 20% of the traffic.
- You’ll spend 80% of your time in just 20% of the rooms in your house.
In his book, Perry Marshall applies this principle to sales and marketing and how you can (as it says on the front cover) use it to work less and make more.
I love business math!
I love being able to measure and record results and then be able to use that information to predict future outcomes.
For example, if I got 1000 people to visit my website and I converted 5% to a sale with an average order value of £10, I would generate £500 ( 5% of 1000 = 50 x £10 = £500).
If I could increase the number of people who visited my website to 1500, then, using the stats above, I could predict sales of £750 ( 5% of 1500 = 75 x £10 = £750).
But what if I could increase my conversion rate from 5% to 8%? How would that affect sales figures?
This is business maths and what 80/20 Sales and Marketing is built upon.
In essence, you’re looking at the different stages of your sales process (traffic – leads – sales etc.) and how you can find the 20% of your marketing that’s bringing in 80% of your sales.
If you love business math too, then you’re going to love this book also.
However, if this is not something that you enjoy, then I’d probably recommend you give this book a miss.
Who is this book for?
In order for you to be able to implement the lessons in this book you need;
- to have some form of sales funnel or sales process in place
- to be able to make decisions and make changes to that process
If you read this book without having a tick next to the two points above, then (like me when I first read this book) you’re not going to be able to do anything with the information you are about to learn.
Therefore, this book suits business owners and entrepreneurs who create and manage sales funnels, along with sales managers and sales representatives that have to follow a sales pipeline.
Design and layout
I had to quickly throw in this section because the design and layout helps to make this book an enjoyable read (rather than the dull mathematical book you’d expect).
Firstly, the chapters are short and snappy. I much prefer this as I feel as though I am moving through the book quite quickly rather than stagnating somewhere in the middle.
You can dip and dip out of the book very easily, and at the end of each chapter, you have a small summary of bullet points that serve as a great reference for the future.
Secondly, included in the book is a small graphic which they have called a ‘Pareto Point’.
This graphic pops up throughout the book next to information that is extremely important. This makes you sit up and pay extra attention because you know that it’s fundamental to the book.
Would I recommend 80/20 Sales and Marketing?
Yes, yes I would.
When I read a book, I always take notes of things that I want to implement into my own life/business/websites, etc.
When I had finished reading 80/20 Sales & Marketing, I had the biggest implementation list of any other book that I have read.
It was so valuable and practical!
As long as you have a sales funnel/process that you are in charge of (as mentioned earlier in this post) then I definitely recommend you pick this book up.
Have you read 80/20 Sales & Marketing?
This review contains my own personal thoughts on the book, but if you have read it, I’d love to know what you think of it.
You can leave your own review of this book in the box below.
80/20 Sales and Marketing
Perry Marshall takes the 80/20 Principle (also known as the Pareto Principle) and applies it to sales and marketing. Using this principle, along with business maths and the typical sales funnels, Marshall shows you how you can (as it says on the front cover) use it to work less and make more.
Your review is appreciated